Lund University

Luca Francesconi

LUCA FRANCESCONI – professor of composition

In the autumn of 2003 he was appointed as a Professor of Composition (50% of full time position) for a duration of six years at the Malmö Academy of Music, Lund University, Sweden.

LUCA FRANCESCONI was born in Milan in 1956. He studied piano and composition (with Azio Corghi) at the Milan Conservatory, in Boston, in Rome with Karlheinz Stockhausen and at Tanglewood with Luciano Berio. In 1990 he founded "AGON Acustica Informatica Musica" in Milan, a centre of musical production and research using new technologies. His works have earned numerous international prizes and awards, including the "Kranichsteiner MusikPreis" of the city of Darmstadt, the "Siemens Prize" (Munich), and the "Prix Italia" with "Ballata del rovescio del mondo", a work for radio to texts by Umberto Fiori (1994). He has been visiting professor of composition at Rotterdam Conservatory, Strasbourg Conservatory, IRCAM´s Académie d´Eté in Paris, the UNM (Young Nordic Music) in Scandinavia, the Université in Montreal, the Domain Forget, the CDMC of Madrid, Akiyoshidai Japan and the Sibelius Academy, among other places. Many important institutions have programmed concerts devoted solely to his music.

To date LUCA FRANCESCONI has written over fifty works for a wide range of forces, from soloists to large orchestras, many of which were commissioned by major musical and radio institutions. These include three string quartets, two oboe concertos, many works for soloist and ensemble or soloist and orchestra, such as Riti neurali (violin), Les baracades mystérieuses (flute), Islands (piano), Trama (saxophone/clarinet) and A fuoco (guitar). He has composed electronic music and vocal music, including Etymo for soprano, chamber orchestra and computer commissioned by IRCAM, and Sirene/Gespenster, a pagan oratorio for four female choruses, percussion, brass and electronics, commissioned and co-produced by WDR, ASKO, SDR, VARA, IRCAM, AGON; music for wind instruments including a quintet (Attesa), an octet (Aria), an instrumental suite after Monteverdi´s Orfeo, and a huge work for five bands in movement (Mittel). Other compositions include Suite 1984, a sort of "polyphony of languages" for symphonic orchestra, jazz quartet and percussion ensemble from Guinea, four works of radio theatre for Italian state radio (RAI), a chamber opera and an opera in two acts (Scene, 1985) to texts by the Milanese poet Umberto Fiori; the "drama with video" in real time Lips, Eyes, Bang to texts by Virgil, the video-opera Striàz (1996) with images by Studio Azzurro; Wanderer for large orchestra commissioned by the Orchestra Filarmonica della Scala and conducted by Riccardo Muti; Cobalt, Scarlet for large orchestra for the Oslo Pilharmoniske Orkester (in collaboration with Göteborgs Symfoniker and Danmarks Radio Symphony Orchestra, May 2000); Terre del rimorso for soloists, chorus and orchestra with the Süddeutscher Rundfunk for the Strasbourg Music Festival in 2001 (conducted by Peter Eötvos) and Let me Bleed for the New London Choir at the Huddersfield Festival.

In 2002 his Opera Buffa, commissioned and produced by the Piccolo Teatro di Milano, and Ballata, libretto by Umberto Fiori, a new opera based on Coleridge´s The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, commissioned by the Théâtre del la Monnaie (stage direction by Achim Freyer, conductor Kazushi Ono). The same year has also seen a new commission for the Ensemble InterContemporain of Paris. In 2004 there is to be a new opera commissioned by the Holland Festival for the Concertgebouw of Amsterdam: Gesualdo considered as a murderer. The same season will also see the first performance of a cello concerto commissioned by the Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale della RAI for the soloist Aansi Kartunen (conducted by Jukka-Pekka Saraste). His interest in new technologies has led to a new project for an interactive opera (2005) entitled Atopia, based on the spatial-temporal co-ordinates of Velasqauez´s "Las Meninas".

LUCA FRANCESCONI collaborates regularly with major international performers and orchestras.


Contact Information

Luca Francesconi
professor in composition
Teachers (Malmö Academy of Music)


Last modified23 Jan 2014

Lund University, Box 117, SE-221 00 Lund, Sweden. Tel: +46 (0)46 222 00 00